Saturday, January 1, 2011

2010 A. M. Pate, Jr. Award Winner

Donald Frazier's Fire in the Cane Field: The Federal Invasion of Louisiana and Texas, January 1861-January 1863 (State House Press, 2009) was recently announced as the winner of the Pate Award. I believe it is the still the only significant book honor that exclusively considers Trans-Mississippi subjects.

And Happy New Year to all and welcome to another year of news and reviews.


  1. I believe that William Shea's book about the Prairie Grove campaign also won a major award last year. Unfortunately, I can't recall which award it was...

  2. It was the Fletcher Pratt Award. A good win.


If you wish to comment, please sign your name. Otherwise, your submission may be rejected, at the moderator's discretion. Comments containing outside promotions and/or links will be deleted.