Monday, September 12, 2022

2022 Civil War book award winners list

Tom Watson Brown Award:
Sebastian Page for Black Resettlement and the American Civil War (Cambridge UP).

Bobbie and John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History:
Kate Masur for Until Justice Be Done: America's First Civil Rights Movement, from the Revolution to Reconstruction (W. W. Norton).

A.M. Pate Award:
Fay Yarbrough for Choctaw Confederates: The American Civil War in Indian Country (UNC Press).

Albert Castel Book Award:
David Powell & Eric Wittenberg for Tullahoma: The Forgotten Campaign that Changed the Course of the Civil War, June 23-July 4, 1863 (Savas Beatie).

Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize:
Robert Elder for Calhoun: American Heretic (Basic Books).

Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award:
Caroline Janney for Ends of War: The Unfinished Fight of Lee's Army After Appomattox (UNC Press) and Charles Knight for From Arlington to Appomattox, Robert E Lee's Civil War by Day: 1861-1865 (Savas Beatie).

Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize:
Caroline Janney for Ends of War: The Unfinished Fight of Lee's Army After Appomattox (UNC Press).

Wiley-Silver Prize:
Kevin Waite for West of Slavery: The Southern Dream of a Transcontinental Empire (UNC Press).

Fletcher Pratt Award:
Kent Masterson Brown for Meade at Gettysburg: A Study in Command (UNC Press).

Douglas Southall Freeman History Award:
Christopher Thrasher for Suffering in the Army of Tennessee: A Social History of the Confederate Army of the Heartland from the Battles for Atlanta to the Retreat from Nashville (UTenn Press).

OAH Civil War and Reconstruction Book Award:
Lorien Foote for Rites of Retaliation: Civilization, Soldiers, and Campaigns in the Civil War (UNC Press).

CWBA Book of the Year:
Eric Michael Burke for Soldiers From Experience: The Forging of Sherman's Fifteenth Army Corps, 1862–1863 (LSU Press).