Wednesday, July 6, 2016

2016 Civil War book awards

There are more book awards out there big and small than you can shake a stick at. Some 2016 awards are still TBA, and what follows is just a few (I'm sure I missed some). I've passed along an announcement already for the relatively new Tom Watson Brown Award, won by Earl Hess, but here's some more.

General Basil W. Duke Literary Award:
Lawrence Lee Hewitt, Thomas Schott, & Marc Kunis, editors of To Succeed or Perish: The Diaries of Sergeant Edmund Trent Eggleston, Company G, 1st Mississippi Light Artillery Regiment (UT Press).

Albert Castel Book Award:
Edward B. McCaul for To Retain Command of the Mississippi: The Civil War Naval Campaign for Memphis (UT Press).

Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize:
Donald S. Frazier for Blood on the Bayou: Vicksburg, Port Hudson and the Trans-Mississippi (State House Pr).

Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award:
David A. Powell for The Chickamauga Campaign - Glory or the Grave: The Breakthrough, the Union Collapse, and the Defense of Horseshoe Ridge, September 20, 1863 (Savas Beatie).

Bobbie and John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History:
J. Matthew Gallman for Defining Duty in the Civil War: Personal Choice, Popular Culture, and the Union Home Front (UNC Pr).

Bachelder-Coddington Literary Award:
Thomas J. Ryan for Spies, Scouts, and Secrets in the Gettysburg Campaign: How the Critical Role of Intelligence Impacted the Outcome of Lee's Invasion of the North, June-July 1863 (Savas Beatie).

2016 Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize :
Martha Hodes for Mourning Lincoln (Yale UP).

Douglas Southall Freeman History Award:
Sheridan R. Barringer for Fighting for General Lee: Confederate General Rufus Barringer and the North Carolina Cavalry Brigade (Savas Beatie).

Lt. Gen. Richard G. Trefry Award:
The Emerging Civil War Series (Savas Beatie), Chris Mackowski (series editor) and Kris White (series historian).

The North Jersey Civil War Round Table 2016 Book Award:
Louis P. Masur for Lincoln's Last Speech: Wartime Reconstruction and the Crisis of Reunion (Oxford UP).

Congratulations to all the current and soon-to-be winners.


  1. Thanks for posting these, Drew. All these authors deserve tremendous praise and thanks for their work.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, Drew. We appreciate it. It's a privilege to tell the stories we do.


***PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING***: You must SIGN YOUR NAME when submitting your comment. In order to maintain civil discourse and ease moderating duties, anonymous comments will be deleted. Comments containing outside promotions and/or product links will also be removed. Thank you for your cooperation.