Saturday, May 26, 2018

2017 Civil War Book awards list

Major Civil War Book Awards (2017)

Tom Watson Brown Award:
Christopher Phillips, The Rivers Ran Backward: The Civil War and the Remaking of the American Middle Border

A.M. Pate Award:
Andrew Masich, Civil War in the Southwest Borderlands 1861-1867

Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize:
David A. Powell, The Chickamauga Campaign―Barren Victory: The Retreat into Chattanooga, the Confederate Pursuit, and the Aftermath of the Battle, September 21 to October 20, 1863

Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award:
Earl Hess, Braxton Bragg: The Most Hated Man in the Confederacy

Bobbie and John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History:
Daniel W. Crofts, Lincoln and the Politics of Slavery: The Other Thirteenth Amendment and the Struggle to Save the Union

Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize :
(tie) James B. Conroy, Lincoln’s White House: The People’s House in Wartime and Douglas R. Egerton, Thunder at the Gates: The Black Civil War Regiments That Redeemed America

Douglas Southall Freeman History Award:
Timothy B. Smith, Grant Invades Tennessee: The 1862 Battles for Forts Henry and Donelson

Jefferson Davis Award:
Adam I.P. Smith, The Stormy Present: Conservatism and the Problem of Slavery in Northern Politics, 1846–1865

Wiley-Silver Prize:
Matthew Hulbert, The Ghosts of Guerrilla Memory: How Civil War Bushwhackers Became Gunslingers in the American West

Nevins - Freeman Award: ??

Bachelder-Coddington Literary Award: ??

General Basil W. Duke Literary Award:: ??


  1. Drew:

    1. Thanks, John. Sorry for the late reply (see

    2. It's strange that the winners list doesn't include the titles! For the purposes of the list I did want to separate purely, or almost purely, Lincoln awards from "Civil War" awards. I'm not sure where this one is at on the spectrum.

  2. Just for clarification, Drew, the Lincoln Forum at its annual symposium in November gave this award to Ron Chernow, the recent author of the new bio on Grant. Mr. Chernow spoke about Grant at the symposium, and I can tell you he is as compelling a speaker as he is an author.


***PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING***: You must SIGN YOUR NAME when submitting your comment. In order to maintain civil discourse and ease moderating duties, anonymous comments will be deleted. Comments containing outside promotions and/or product links will also be removed. Thank you for your cooperation.