Saturday, August 8, 2020

2020 Civil War book award winners list

Tom Watson Brown Award:
Thomas J. Brown for Civil War Monuments and the Militarization of America (UNC Press).

Bobbie and John Nau Book Prize in American Civil War Era History:
Joseph P. Reidy for Illusions of Emancipation: The Pursuit of Freedom and Equality in the Twilight of Slavery (UNC Press).

A.M. Pate Award:
Christopher M. Rein for The Second Colorado Cavalry: A Civil War Regiment on the Great Plains (OU Press).

Albert Castel Book Award:
Carl Guarneri for Lincoln’s Informer: Charles A. Dana and the Inside Story of the Union War (UP of Kansas).

Dan and Marilyn Laney Prize:
Donald L. Miller for Vicksburg: Grant's Campaign That Broke the Confederacy (Simon & Schuster).

Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award:
Hampton Newsome for The Fight for the Old North State: The Civil War in North Carolina, January-May 1864 (UP of Kansas).

Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize:
Elizabeth R. Varon for Armies of Deliverance: A New History of the Civil War (Oxford UP).

Wiley-Silver Prize:
Christopher R. Mortenson for Politician in Uniform: General Lew Wallace and the Civil War (OU Press).

Fletcher Pratt Award:
Stephen Davis for Texas Brigadier to the Fall of Atlanta: John Bell Hood (Mercer UP).

Douglas Southall Freeman History Award:
Christian B. Keller for The Great Partnership: Robert E. Lee, Stonewall Jackson, and the Fate of the Confederacy (Pegasus).

American Civil War Museum awards:
No 2020 award(s). The museum is "re-imagining its annual awards for scholarship about the Civil War." Presumably, that means their nearly five-decade old Jefferson Davis Award is no more.

OAH Civil War and Reconstruction Book Award:
W. Caleb McDaniel for Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America (Oxford UP).

Also, CWBA Book of the Year recognition goes to Zachary Stuart Garrison for German Americans on the Middle Border: From Antislavery to Reconciliation, 1830–1877 (SIU Press).

No comments:

Post a Comment

***PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING***: You must SIGN YOUR NAME when submitting your comment. In order to maintain civil discourse and ease moderating duties, anonymous comments will be deleted. Comments containing outside promotions and/or product links will also be removed. Thank you for your cooperation.