Tuesday, December 4, 2007

2007 Book Prizes

The A.M. Pate, Jr. Award winner is Steven Mayeux for his book Earthen Walls, Iron Men: Fort DeRussy, Louisiana, and the Defense of Red River (University of Tennessee Press, 2007). The honor conferred upon Mr. Mayeux is well deserved. I reviewed this book earlier in the year (link).

And, from a comment to a previous post:
Speaking of Civil War book awards, as the Chairman of the Robert E. Lee Civil War Library & Research Center, I would like to announce that this year's winner of the Dr. James I. Robertson Jr. Literary Prize for Confederate History is Brian D. McKnight for his book Contested Borderland: The Civil War in Appalachian Kentucky And Virginia. The Robertson Prize, which honors Dr. James I. Robertson, was established in 2000 and confers the award to the author of the best orignial work of published scholarship in the field of Confederate History for a calendar year. Past winners of the Robertson Prize have included Rod Gragg, Frank O'Reilly, G. Ward Hubbs, John Fox, Earl Hess, and Kent Masterson Brown.

Lawrence Korczyk
Chairman-Robertson Prize
If you'd like to read my review of McKnight's book, or refresh your memory if you already have, click on this (link).

The 2007 Laney Prize (sponsored by the The Austin Civil War Round Table of Austin) went to A. Wilson Greene for his book Civil War Petersburg: Confederate City in the Crucible of War . I'd never heard of this award before, which is devoted to ACW political and military history scholarship.

I may have mentioned this one previously, but Russell Bonds' Stealing the General: The Great Locomotive Chase and the First Medal of Honor won the 2007 Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award. Certainly one of my 2007 favorites.

The Barondess/Lincoln Award (CWRT of NY): Gabor Boritt for The Gettysburg Gospel: The Lincoln Speech That Nobody Knows.

The Lincoln Book Prize: Douglas L. Wilson for Lincoln’s Sword: The Presidency and the Power of Words.

No comments:

Post a Comment

***PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING***: You must SIGN YOUR NAME when submitting your comment. In order to maintain civil discourse and ease moderating duties, anonymous comments will be deleted. Comments containing outside promotions and/or product links will also be removed. Thank you for your cooperation.